BJP's Bhuban Gam Wins Majuli Constituency

Bhuban Gam

The Bharatiya Janata Party has achieved a massive lead in the bypolls to Assam's Majuli seat in eight rounds of counting of votes, the Election Commission of India reported. Bhuban Gam of the BJP received 36,105 and was leading over Chittaranjan Basumatary of the Assam Jatiya Parishad by over 22,000 votes. According to the ECI website, the BJP candidate has got nearly 70 per cent of the vote share over his nearest AJP rival who got 25 per cent votes. 

Majuli seat was vacated by former Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal who resigned after he became a union minister. The Congress had won the seat thrice between 2001 and 2011. This time, it decided to let its ally AJP contest the seat. The newly formed party had failed to win a single seat in the Assembly polls held last year.